Jun 24, 2024  
2015-2016 Student Handbook 
    
2015-2016 Student Handbook [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Expenses


Payment

The West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission regulations require the College to operate strictly on a cash basis with all payments and obligations being collected in advance.

If payment is made by check, registration will be considered incomplete until the check covering the required fees has cleared the bank on which it is written. The cashier’s office will accept cash, credit cards, money orders, or approved personal checks written for the exact amount of the obligation. All checks must be payable to Blue Ridge Community and Technical College and third party checks will not be accepted. A student’s registration may be cancelled when payment is made by a check which is dishonored by the bank. If the returned check is in payment of tuition and fees, the business office is required to declare the fees unpaid and registration cancelled. The return of a check for any reason constitutes late registration, and the applicable late-registration fee shall be assessed. In such case, the student may re-register upon redemption of the unpaid check, payment of the $10 returned check handling charge, and payment of the applicable late fee of $25. The returned check fee of $10 will be collected for each check returned unpaid by the bank upon which it is drawn, unless the drawer obtains an admission of error from the bank.

All student charges are payable at the time of registration for each semester. Students in debt to the College from a previous semester or term will not be permitted to enroll until all obligations are paid. Any outstanding and unpaid financial obligation to the College can result in withholding the student’s grades, transcript of credits, diploma, and official reports. Students will not be permitted to attend classes until registration has been completed. In addition, outstanding balances greater than 30 days may be referred to a collection agency in accordance with the Blue Ridge CTC Collection policy.

Student employees will be required to pay tuition and fees at the same time as other students. The student employee will receive paychecks from the State of West Virginia for work performed during the previous month. All fees and expenses are subject to change without prior notice.

Enrollment Fees Per Semester—Fall 2015

 

West Virginia Students Enrolled at Blue Ridge Community and Technical College

Out-of-State Students Enrolled at Blue Ridge Community and Technical College

Hours

Fee

Hours

Fee

1

$154.00

1

$278.00

2

$308.00

2

$556.00

3

$462.00

3

$834.00

4

$616.00

4

$1112.00

5

$770.00

5

$1390.00

6

$924.00

6

$1668.00

7

$1078.00

7

$1946.00

8

$1232.00

8

$2224.00

9

$1386.00

9

$2502.00

10

$1540.00

10

$2780.00

11

$1694.00

11

$3058.00

12

$1848.00

12

$3336.00

Rates are subject to approval of the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission.

Explanation as to Use of Enrollment Fees—Fall 2015

 

 

West Virginia Students (Full-Time Rate)

Out-of-State Students (Full-Time Rate)

 

Tuition Fee:

$144.00

$312.00

Restricted for statewide capital improvement purposes by West Virginia Statute.

 

 

 

Technology Fee:

$120.00

$120.00

Restricted to defray expenses for the development of college technology.

 

 

 

College Operation Fee:

$1584.00

$2904.00

Unrestricted for general operating purposes.

 

 

 

TOTAL

$1,716.00

$3,096.00

Refund Policy

Students who withdraw in accordance with College procedures may receive a refund of tuition and fees in accordance with the schedules outlined below. The refund calculation is based on the amount paid toward tuition and fees. (No refunds on partial withdrawals). Refunds are determined from the first day of the school term, which officially begins with orientation and registration days. The official withdrawal date is certified by the registrar. Refund checks are issued through the State Treasury, and receipt of a refund may take up to six weeks depending upon the date of withdrawal.

To get a 100% refund you must drop ALL classes by the end of add/drop.

Regular Session

 

During first and second weeks

90%

During third and fourth weeks

75%

During fifth through eighth weeks

50%

Beginning with ninth week

No Refund

 

 

 

Summer Session

 

During first 10% of the term

90%

From 11% to 25% of the term

75%

From 26% to 50% of the term

50%

After 50% of the term is completed

No Refund

Special Fees

Admission Application Fee (nonrefundable)

$ 25.00

Board of Governors Transcript Posting Fee (per credit)

10.00

Diploma Replacement

20.00

Late Payment

25.00

Late Registration

25.00

Online Course Fees per credit hour

25.00

Orientation Fee

25.00

Returned Check Handling Fee

10.00

Science Lab Fee

20.00-80.00

Student ID Replacement

5.00

Transcript (24 hour emergency)

15.00

Transcripts—after first transcript

5.00

Additional fees may be assessed for individual courses. These fees are listed in the comments section in the schedule of classes.

Audit Fees Per Semester

Enrollment fees for students enrolled in courses for audit (without credit) are the same as if credit were given. (The only exception applies to students who are 65 and over requesting the senior citizen discount.)

Reduced Tuition and Fee Program

WV Residents who are at Least 65 Years of Age

1.To be eligible for this program the applicant must complete the application/registration form and choose on of the following options:

a.Register under this program for all classes for credit ($77/per credit hour).

b.Register under this program for all classes for noncredit ($12.50/per credit hour).
(A student cannot mix these two options or mix this program with regular tuition course registration.)

2.A student eligible for this plan may only register in person, following the same guidelines as other non-degree seeking students.

3.The total tuition and standard fees for the credit option will be 50 percent of the normal rates charged to state residents.

4.The total tuition and standard fees for the noncredit option will be $12.50 per credit hour.

5.Students under this plan will be expected to pay full charges for special fees, including laboratory fees, which are required of all other students.

6.Students must pay at time of registration to avoid being dropped for nonpayment.

7.In lieu of a grade, an AU will be entered for courses in the noncredit option.

8.Students may withdraw according to established dates.

9.The standard refund policy applies, as do all other college policies not specifically addressed herein.

10.All College academic policies apply.

11.Students registered under this program cannot pre-register for the next term.

Currently Enrolled High School Students

Students currently enrolled in high school are eligible for reduced tuition rates at $25 per credit hour.